Projects Galore

30 05 2011

Yesterday’s project #1. Paint the mirror in the living room above the mantle. Its an old built in mirror which the previous owner just put some wood trim around and painted white. The problem is that the trim just blends in with the mantle and the walls.

Mirror Before

I just wanted to give it a little bit of color so it stood out from the walls. So I went to Michaels and got some silver acrylic paint and went to town.

Mirror After

Sorry my photos aren’t that great – I’m taking them on my iPod, but you get the idea.

Project #2. Shadowbox. I got 2 wonderfully sentimental gifts recently – one, a photo of my grandpa (who I called Opa) who passed away about 4 years ago. He was a renowned plastic surgeon who I looked up to very much. The second gift was his old stethoscope. So while at Michaels I got a shadowbox….and voila!

Dr. Doug McKinnon

Project #3. Hang bedroom curtains. This project only came about because I am such a light sleeper and the sun coming in our window yesterday was killing me! Soooo, I pulled out the old curtains from my apartment (and luckily still had the curtain rod as well…see hoarding can be a good thing!). Unfortunately I am vertically challenged and lacking in the strength department – therefore, this became Sam’s project – much to his excitement once he realized our walls are made of freaking concrete and are impossible to screw into! Oh well – he did a great job, and the curtains worked wonders this morning. Sorry no pictures, but yall are smart – picture it in your head – white curtains.

Project #4. Mow the lawn, or should I say “lawn”. Again, this is Sam’s domain. Our lot is sloped down towards the backyard so water runs that way, leading to some very patchy grass. We still haven’t decided if we should try planting some new grass to try and fill in all the spots, or just leave it. Any suggestions? Anyway – Sam bought a mower from a med school friend and went to town on our patchy little lawn.

I dont think I have any big projects planned for today – but we shall see!

Actions

Information

2 responses

30 05 2011
Mark McKinnon

Great job on the Opa shadow box!

30 05 2011
Hannah McKinnon

Dear Brita.

thank you so very much for sharing this with me. I think, if you get tired of being a Doctor, you would have a great career in the design field. The mirrow with the silve frame is stunning and the shadow box with ” Opa’s ” photo is very creatively presented. He wanted you to have his stetoscope. I have my entire garage filled with boxes and stood in front of the first box feeling ” how long is this going to take”, and there it was in the very first box, waiting for me to give to you. I am so happy a small piece of him is with you, just the way he would have wanted it.
I am so happy for you to have your first house.
Love,
Hannah

Leave a Reply

